Rediscovering the Joy of Running: A Journey of Resilience and Mindfulness

Nona Dinamoni
3 min readMar 12, 2024

After a significant hiatus of three years from outdoor running, I found myself yearning to return to the simplicity and challenge of hitting the pavement. My fitness routine had shifted to weight training supplemented with brief cardio sessions of about 15 minutes. Once, running 3 miles was a part of my regular exercise regimen, and pushing myself to 6 miles was within reach, albeit occasionally. However, as time passed, I not only gave up running long distances but also reduced my gym visits significantly over the past four months.

The desire to reintegrate running into my life led me to choose a nearby park as my new starting point. In an attempt to immerse myself fully in the experience, I made a conscious decision to leave behind my headphones. This time, I sought to run unencumbered by any distractions, including the soothing rhythms of music. I aimed to engage with my thoughts directly, many of which centered around self-doubt concerning my ability to complete even a mile, as well as the physical demand for air as my lungs struggled to adapt to the renewed exertion.

The initial week was marked by challenges and moments of introspection. On my first attempt, I managed to cover 1.2 miles, albeit with numerous breaks that punctuated my efforts. The endeavor was as much a mental battle as it…

--

--